Institute of Microbiology and Parasitology


Gerbičeva 60, SI-1115 Ljubljana

tel.: +386 1 4779 159

fax.: +386 1 4779 352


  • Employees

    Strokovnjaki

     
    viš. znan. sod. dr. Brane Krt, dr. vet. med., predstojnik brane.krt@vf.uni-lj.si; tel.: 01 4779 167, 040 398 313
    izr. prof. dr. Peter Hostnik, dr. vet. med., namestnik predstojnika, vodja Enote za virologijo peter.hostnik@vf.uni-lj.si; tel.: 01 4779 178, 040 398 310
    doc. dr. Irena Zdovc, dr. vet. med., namestnica predstojnika, vodja Enote za bakteriologijo in mikologijo irena.zdovc@vf.uni-lj.si; tel.: 01 4779 158
    dr. Janez Posedi, dr. vet. med., namestnik predstojnika, vodja Enote za parazitologijo janez.posedi@vf.uni-lj.si; tel.: 01 4779 176
    prof. dr. Jože Grom, dr. vet. med. joze.grom@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 179
    prof. dr. Andrej Pengov, dr. vet. med. andrej.pengov@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 163, 040 801 468
    izr. prof. dr. Tadej Malovrh, dr. vet. med. tadej.malovrh@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 824, 040 852 416
    viš. znan. sod. dr. Matjaž Ocepek,dr. vet. med. matjaz.ocepek@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 252
    viš. znan. sod. dr. Ivan Toplak, dr. vet. med. ivan.toplak@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 180
    doc. dr. Aleksandra Vergles Rataj, dr. vet. med. aleksandra.verglesrataj@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 177
    znan. sod. dr. Igor Gruntar, dr. vet. med. igor.gruntar@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 168
    znan. sod. dr. Mateja Pate,dr. vet. med. mateja.pate@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 175
    asist. dr. Vojislava Bole Hribovšek, dr. vet. med. vojislava.bolehribovsek@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 166
    asist. dr. Aleksandra Grilc-Fajfar, dr. vet. med. aleksandra.grilcfajfar@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 846
    asist. dr. Darja Kušar, univ. dipl. biol. darja.kusar@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 158
    dr. Jana Avberšek, univ. dipl. mikr. jana.avbersek@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 841
    dr. Danijela Rihtarič, dr. vet. med. danijela.rihtaric@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 844
    mag. Jasna Mičunovič, dr. vet. med. jasna.micunovic@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 841, 041 983 942
    asist. Majda Golob, dr. vet. med. majda.golob@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 168
    Olga Kosar, dr. vet. med. olga.kosar@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 843
    Urška Zajc, dr. vet. med. urska.zajc@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 807
    Tatjana Pačnik, ing. agr. tatjana.pacnik@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 177

    Mlade raziskovalke

     
     Petra Bandelj, dr. vet. med.  petra.bandelj@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 810
     Urška Jamnikar Ciglenečki, univ. dipl. biokem.  urska.jamnikar@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 845
    Urška Kuhar, dr. vet. med. urska.kuhar@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 845
    Laboranti  
    Polona Berčon,lab. teh. polona.bercon@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 850
    Helena Bibič, gimn. mat. helena.bibic@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 159
    Ljudmila Bizjak, vet. teh. ljudmila.bizjak@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 182
    Martina Germek, vet. teh. martina.germek@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 177
    Magda Klun, vet. teh. magda.klun@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 172
    Miha Lenarčič, vet. teh. miha.lenarcic@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 181
    Maja Lepen, vet. teh. maja.lepen@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 843
    Evelina Mehle Ponikvar, vet. teh. evelina.mehleponikvar@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 160
    Natalija Novak, vet. teh. natalija.novak@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 181
    Bojan Pavlin,vet. teh. bojan.pavlin@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 164
    Nataša Peterka, vet. teh. natasa.peterka@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 160
    Milojka Šetina, vet. teh. milojka.setina@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 253
    Aleksandra Udovič, vet. teh. aleksandra.udovic@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 160
    Alenka Magdalena Usenik, vet. teh. alenkamagdalena.usenik@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 170
    Melita Žlindra, lab. teh. melita.zlindra@vf.uni-lj.si; int. 181

  • Education

    At the Institute of Microbiology and Parasitology (IMP) the following subjects take place in the context of undergraduate studies in veterinary medicine

        • Microbiology with immunology (compulsory subject, Subject Head – Prof. Dr. Andrej Pengov)

    The main purpose of this subject is to process the fundamental topics from biology of microbes, such as morphology, physiology, genetics etc. and explain the basic mechanisms of defense of organisms against microbes.

    In clinical microbiology students learn about microbial species and the causes of infectious diseases which veterinarians deal with both in fieldwork and research work.

    Students are acquainted with food sanitary microbiology, with types of microbes in foods, their role, and factors affecting their growth and their identification and management. Students are also given the opportunity to develop their medical thinking in terms of preventing diseases that are transmitted through food, and food poisoning.

    Description of contents – General microbiology:
    – Basic group of microorganisms
    – Structure of bacteria cells
    – Metabolism, growth and reproduction of bacteria
    – Bacterial genetics
    – Classification and naming of bacteria
    – The relationship between bacteria and host
    – Antibiotics and chemotherapeutics
    – Fungi
    – Microbes in food
    – Viruses (classification, morphology, reproduction, genetics)
    – Diagnostics (microscopic, bacteriological, seriological, molecular)
    – Immune system
    – Vaccinations and vaccines
    – Sterilisation and disinfection
    Description of contents – Clinical microbiology:
    – Gram negative gene bacteria
    – Gram positive gene bacteria
    – Chlamydia and riketssia
    – Pathogenic gene fungi
    – Classification of microbes important in food Klasifikacija mikrobov pomembnih v živ.san. mikrobiol.
    – Viral infections in domestic animals

        • Parazoology (compulsory subject, Subject Head – Doc. Dr. Aleksandra Vergles Rataj)
        • Epizootiology (compulsory subject, Subject Head – Prof. Dr. Jože Grom)
        • The Organisation of Health Systems and Production Controls (elective subject, Subject Head – Prof. Dr. Andrej Pengov)
        • The History of Veterinary Medicine (elective subject, Subject Head – Prof. Dr. Andrej Pengov)
        • Microbiology Practical Course (elective subject, Subject Head – Prof. Dr. Andrej Pengov)

     

  • Research

    Programme Group

    The leaders of the programme group P4-0092 Animal Health, Environment and Food Safety (2009 – 2013) is Senior Research Fellow Dr. Matjaž Ocepek. Under this programme employees, or collaborators, of IMP lead the following thematic areas of research:

        • Epidemiologic study of food-borne zoonosis (Leader: Senior Research Fellow Dr. Matjaž Ocepek)
        • Identifying the causes of emerging diseases in animals (Leader: Prof. Dr. Olga Zorman Rojs, IZVP)
        • The prevalence and monitoring of the causes of certain diseases which are transmitted by vectors (Leader: Prof. Dr. Olga Zorman Rojs, IZVP)
        • Molecular epidemiology of some economically important viral diseases (Leader: Senior Research Fellow Dr. Ivan Toplak)

    Other members of the programme group with IMP are: Prof. Dr. Jože Grom, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Peter Hostnik, Prof. Dr. Andrej Pengov, Senior Research Fellow Dr. Brane Krt, Doc. Dr. Irena Zdovc, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Tadej Malovrh, Research Fellow Dr. Mateja Pate, Research Fellow Dr. Igor Gruntar, Doc. Dr. Aleksandra Vergles Rataj, Dr. Janez Posedi, Assist. Dr. Darja Ferme, Assist. Dr. Aleksandra Grilc Fajfar, Dr. Jana Avberšek, Urška Jamnikar Ciglenečki, Urška Kuhar, Petra Bandelj.

     

    Research Projects

    Current Research Projects

    J3-4298: The role of the environment and host in the emergence and development of infections with Clostridium difficile, 2011-2014, Project Leader: Prof. Dr. Maja Rupnik (ZZV Maribor)
    V4-1106: Determining the origin and spread of L. monocytogenes in breeding of animals and food production to ensure food safety, 2011-2014, Project Leader: Doc. Dr. Irena Zdovc
    V4-1110: Ensuring food safety: problematic contamination of poultry and poultry meat with campylobacter in Slovenia, 2011-2014, Project Leader: Senior Research Fellow Dr. Matjaž Ocepek
    COST FA0902: Understanding and combating porcine reproductive and respiratory syndrome in Europe, 2009-2013, Co-ordinator at the Veterinary Faculty: Senior Research Fellow Dr. Ivan Toplak
    BI-BA/12-13-018: Ensuring food safety: problematic contamination of poultry and poultry meat with campylobacter in Slovenia, 2012-2013, Project Leader: Senior Research Fellow Dr. Matjaž Ocepek
    BI-CN/11-13-022: Development of live attenuated vaccines against the highly pathogenic virus strain of porcine reproductive and respiratory syndrome and use of cytokines for increasing their immunological effect, 2011-2013, Project Leader: Senior Research Fellow Dr. Ivan Toplak

     

    Completed Research Projects

    Information about completed research projects which have taken place under the auspices of the research group 0406-002 (Institute of Microbiology and Parasitology VF), are available on the SICRIS website.

     

    Bibilography

    The bibliography of individual articles of the IMP research groups is available on the COBISS website. The bibliography of the entire research group is available on the SICRIS website.

  • Professional Work

    At IMP professional/operative work is carried out in the field of diagnostics of infectious animal diseases in the frame of three units, whose laboratories perform a variety of bacteriological, mycological, virological, serological and parasitological investigations for the needs of veterinary clinics and/or owners of animals, as well as various legal entities in livestock production and processing activities.
    The largest volume of professional/operative work is within the scope of activities of the National Veterinary Institute (NVI). In order to perform this work, laboratories are authorized, and appointed by the Administration of the Republic of Slovenia for Food Safety, Veterinary and Plant Protection. For the needs of the country and for official controls, testing of samples is carried out on a number of infectious diseases, including those for which it is necessary, due to the risk of pathogens, to be performed in level 3 security laboratories.

    Under the auspices of the NVI, employees at the Institute also manage 15 national reference laboratories
    NRL for African swine fever, Leader: Senior Research Fellow Dr. Ivan Toplak
    NRL for blue tongue diseases, Leader: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Tadej Malovrh
    NRL for classic swine fever, Leader: Prof. Dr. Jože Grom
    NRL for equine influenza, Assist. Leader: Dr. Aleksandra Grilc Fajfar
    NRL for foot and mouth disease, Leader: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Peter Hostnik
    NRL for rabies and monitoring the effectiveness of vaccinating against rabies, Leader: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Peter Hostnik
    NRL for swine vesicular disease, Leader: Senior Research Fellow Dr. Ivan Toplak
    NRL for brucellosis, Leader: Senior Research Fellow Dr. Brane Krt
    NRL for camplyobacter, Leader: Research Fellow Dr. Igor Gruntar
    NRL for Listeria monocytogenes , Leader: Doc. Dr. Irena Zdovc
    NRL for salmonella, Assist. Leader: Dr. Vojka Bole Hribovšek
    NRL for tuberculosis (TBC), Leader: Senior Research Fellow. Dr. Matjaž Ocepek
    NRL for determining the resistance of bacteria against antimicrobial medicines, Leader: Doc. Dr. Irena Zdovc
    NRL for equine diseases, Leader: Assoc. Prof. Dr. Tadej Malovrh
    NRL for parasites (especially trichinella, echinococcus and anisakis), Leader: Dr. Janez Posedi

    Additionally, employees at IMP participate in the implementation of the following NRL activities, which operate in the context of other organisational units of the Veterinary Faculty: NRL for fish diseases, NRL for diseases of molluscs, NRL for crustacean diseases, NRL for monitoring bacterial and viral contamination of molluscs, NRL for coagulase-positive staphylococci, NRL for E. coli, including VTEC and NRL for milk and dairy products.